LibGuides: Law Subject Guide: Case Law

Case Law Databases

WestLaw
Available to students in Meredith's paralegal program, this is the best database for searching case law at all levels of the court system.

Fastcase Premium This link opens in a new window
Fastcase Premium is an add-on to HeinOnline which allows full-text and metadata searching of case law via the Hein platform.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Find case law from federal and state US courts.

FindLaw
Search for opinion summaries by court and legal topic.
Caselaw Access Project
A searchable digitized collection of all federal and state case law, from the beginning through the year 2020.

North Carolina Appellate Courts
Opinions of the North Carolina Court of Appeals and the North Carolina Supreme Court. Covers from 1998 to present.
North Carolina Court System
In addition to opinions, this site has information on navigating the court system in North Carolina.

North Carolina Reports
R 347.997 N81 , Selected Years
Located on ground floor in the legal collection.
Official opinions of the North Carolina Supreme Court.
Southeastern Reporter
R 345.415 So8 v.1 1887 - v. 200 1982
Located on ground floor in legal collection.
Covers GA, SC, NC, VA, and W. VA cases. Includes key points of law covered in cases as well as opinions rendered.
South Eastern Reporter/North Carolina Reporter
R 345.415 So8s v.1, 1939 - v. 689, 2010
These two titles cover North Carolina cases for the years indicated. This set is incomplete. In addition to the opinion, key points of law are identified for each case.
North Carolina Digest 2d
R 347.997 N812 v. 1-49
Located on the ground floor in the legal collection.
The Digest identifies NC cases by topic.
Strong's North Carolina Index
R 345.52 St8 4th v. 1-30
This index includes a General Index, a Words and Phrases index and a Table of Cases. There is also an Archive set.
Shepard's North Carolina Citations
R 348.756 Sh4c 1995 v.1-4 + suppl.
This title is located on the ground floor in the legal collection.

Supreme Court of the United States
Includes opinions from v. 502, 1991 Term to present. Transcripts of oral arguments from Oct. 2000 to present are also archived at this site.
Legal Information Institute (Cornell)
An archive of Supreme Court decisions from 1990 through the present, which can be either searched by keyword or browsed by topic.
United States Courts Opinions
This collection of decisions includes Federal Appellate Courts, District Courts and Bankruptcy Courts from April 2004 to present.

United States Supreme Court Reports
R 345.4 Un3 v.1 1781 - v. 105 1881
Contains printed copies of opinions. Located on the Ground Floor of the Library in the Legal Collection.
Supreme Court Reporter
R 345.4 Un3 v.1(106) 1882 to 2015
Includes paper copies of recent opinions.
United States Supreme Court Digest
R 345.4 Un3d v.1-17
The Digest identifies Federal cases and pertinent State cases by topic.

Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System
349.73 En1

The Supreme Court A to Z
R 347.73 J795s