Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote : Exporting Citations from Databases to EndNote

Overview

Some databases such as EBSCOhost support a direct export of citations to EndNote Web. Other databases require saving to a file before importing.

Note for Mac users: Direct export does not work in the Safari browser.  For all databases (including EBSCO), you will need to save your citations to a file, then import them into EndNote via the Collect menu.  If you use the Firefox or Chrome browser, direct export should work.

Below is a list of databases and database providers with instructions on how to import references using various import filters.

Find Instructions by Database Name

Find Instructions by Database Provider

ABI/Inform Complete 
Academic Search Premier
America: History and Life
Art and Architecture Complete
Business Source Premier 
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Credo Reference
Ebook Central
ERIC (via EBSCOhost)
Gale Reference
Google Scholar
Health Source
Historical Abstracts
Humanities International Complete
JSTOR
Literary Reference Center Plus
Literature Resources from Gale
MathSciNet
Military and Government Collection
MLA International Bibliography
North Carolina Newspapers
One Search
PAIS International
PhilPapers 
ProQuest Research Databases
PsycINFO
PubMed (NCBI)
Scopus
Social Services Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
SportDiscus
WorldCat
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

EBSCO Databases 
Proquest Databases
SpringerLink
Wiley Online Library

America: History and Life

In America History and Life:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Business Source Premier

In Business Source Premier:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Credo Reference

In Credo Reference:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Click on Save to add records to to be imported into EndNote Web.
  3. Click on Saved Results located at the top of the results screen.
  4. In the Action box check Export to Reference Manager. Click on GO.
  5. File will be saved onto your computer (file will have an .do extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

EBSCO Databases

In an EBSCO database:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Gale Reference

In Gale Reference:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Click on Save to add records to to be imported into EndNote Web.
  3. Click on More to open a drop down menu.
  4. Click on My Folder on the drop down menu to view saved citations.
  5. Click on Citation Tools. Select EndNote.
  6. File will be saved onto your computer (file will have an .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Health Source

In the Health Source database:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export to Endnote Web.
  6. Click on Save.
  7. Login to Endnote Web if prompted.
  8. References will be imported directly into EndNote Web.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab My References.
  2. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Humanities International Complete

In Humanities International Complete:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Literary Reference Center Plus

In Literary Reference Center Plus:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

MathSciNet

In the MathSciNet database:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. At the top of the search results page in the Batch Download drop down menu, select Citations (EndNote).
  3. Mark references to be imported into EndNote Web.
  4. Click the Retrieve Marked link.
  5. Use the File/Save Page As function in your browser to save the file as text only.
  6. NOTE: The saved file must be a text file. Check the file extension to make sure it not an html extension.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File : click on the Choose File button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option : click on the dropdown listbox and select EndNote Import.
  4. Under To : Select Group or Unfiled.
  5. Click on Import .
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Military and Government Collection

In Military and Government Collection:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

OneSearch

In OneSearch:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Mark records to be imported into EndNote Web by clicking on the small folder icon with a (+) sign.
  3. Open the marked records folder (located at top of results screen) to review your choices. 
  4. Select Export As EndNote.
  5. Save file onto your computer (file will have a .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, select RefMan RIS
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

PhilPapers

In PhilPapers:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Click on the title of the desired item.
  3. Click the Export Citation link at the bottom of the record (listed under 'options').
  4. Click on Endnote
  5. Save file onto your computer (file will have a .ris/.enw extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter Endnote Import.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

PsycINFO

In PsycINFO:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Scopus

In Scopus:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Mark references to be imported into EndNote Web and click on Export.
  3. Click on RIS Format (EndNote).
  4. Click the Export button.  

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect.
  2. Click on Import References.
  3. Under File: , browse and select the saved file from your computer.
  4. Under Import Option :, select RefMan RIS
  5. Under To: select unfiled or a group
  6. Click on Import
  7. Click on the tab My References.
  8. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Sociological Abstracts

In Sociological Abstracts:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Mark references to be imported into EndNote Web.
  3. Click on Export/Save.
  4. In the drop down box, click on ProCite, EndNote or Reference Manager.
  5. Save file onto your computer (file will have an .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select ProQuest.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import .
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

SpringerLink

In SpringerLink:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Click on title to view record.
  3. Click on Export Citation.
  4. Select DownloadEndNote (RIS)
  5. Save file onto your computer (file will have an .enw extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select SpringerLink.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

WorldCat

In WorldCat (Books and More):

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Click on the title of the desired item.
  3. Click the Cite link at the top of the record.
  4. Click on Export to EndNote.
  5. Save file onto your computer (file will have a .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

ABI/Inform Complete (ProQuest)

In ABI Inform Databases:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Mark references to be imported into EndNote Web.
  3. Click on Export/Save.
  4. In the drop down box, click on EndNote, Citavi, or Reference Manager.
  5. Click on Continue (located at bottom of pop up box)
  6. Save file onto your computer (file will have an .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File : click on the Choose File button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option : click on the dropdown listbox and select ProQuest.
  4. Under To : Select Group or Unfiled.
  5. Click on Import .
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Academic Search Premier

In Academic Search Premier:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Art and Architecture Complete

In Art and Architecture Complete:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

In Communication and Mass Media Complete:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Ebook Central

In Ebook Central:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Click on the title of the desired item(s).
  3. Click the Endnote button. 
  4. If given an option, click Save File.  Otherwise, the file should be downloaded as a .action file or as a .ris file into your Downloads folder.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

ERIC (via EBSCOhost)

In ERIC:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Google Scholar

In Google Scholar:

  1. Go to the Google Scholar home page at https://scholar.google.com/
  2. Click on the link to Settings.
  3. In Bibliography Manager, under Show links to import citations into, select EndNote.
  4. Click on Save.
  5. The "Import into EndNote" option will be shown for each record in the Google Scholar results screen. 
  6. You will not see this link if you have not changed the settings in Scholar. 
  7. Conduct your search in Google Scholar.
  8. Save the file onto your computer (file will have a .enw extension).

Note: Setting preferences will not work if you have disabled cookies in your browser. 

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect . Click on Import References .
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select EndNote Import.
  4. Select Group
  5. Click on Import .
  6. Click on the tab My References
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Historical Abstracts

In Historical Abstracts:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

JSTOR

In JSTOR:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Mark records to be exported to EndNote Web.
  3. Click on Export
  4. Select a format: RIS file.
  5. Save file onto your computer (file will have a .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter JSTOR.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Literature Resources from Gale

In Literary Resource Center:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to be imported into EndNote Web to My Folder.
  3. Click on My Folder located at top of page.
  4. Click on Citation Tools. Select EndNote.
  5. Click on Save File.
  6. Save file as onto your computer (file will have a .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

MLA International Bibliography

In MLA International Bibliography:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

North Carolina Newspapers

In NC Newspapers:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Click on the title of the desired item.
  3. Click the Cite/Export link at the top of the record.
  4. Click on Export to EndNote / Reference Manager.
  5. Save file onto your computer (file will have a .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

PAIS International

In PAIS International:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Mark references to be imported into EndNote Web.
  3. Click on Export/Save.
  4. In the drop down box, click on EndNote, Citavi, or Reference Manager.
  5. Click on Continue (located at bottom of pop up box)
  6. Save file onto your computer (file will have an .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File : click on the Choose File button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option : click on the dropdown listbox and select ProQuest.
  4. Under To : Select Group or Unfiled.
  5. Click on Import .
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

ProQuest Research Databases

In ProQuest Research Databases:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Mark references to be imported into EndNote Web.
  3. Click on Export/Save.
  4. In the drop down box, click on EndNote, Citavi, or Reference Manager.
  5. Click on Continue (located at bottom of pop up box)
  6. Save file onto your computer (file will have an .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File : click on the Choose File button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option : click on the dropdown listbox and select ProQuest.
  4. Under To : Select Group or Unfiled.
  5. Click on Import .
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

PubMed (NCBI)

In PubMed:

  1. From your search results or an individual citation, click on Send To and select Citation Manager
  2. If you are starting from a list of search results, select which results you want to import.
  3. Click on Create File.
  4. This will save the citation(s) as a file to your computer (the file will have a .nbib extension).  

In EndNote Online:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved .nnib file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option:, click on the dropdown listbox and select PubMed (NLM)(Do not select PubMedCentral (NLM), which is just below this).
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.

Social Services Abstracts

In Social Services Abstracts:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Mark references to be imported into EndNote Web.
  3. Click on Export/Save.
  4. In the drop down box, click on ProCite, EndNote or Reference Manager.
  5. Save file onto your computer (file will have an .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select ProQuest.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import .
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

SportDISCUS

In SportDISCUS:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Add records to folder.
  3. Go to: Folder View and select items for export to EndNote Web.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export in RIS Format.
  6. Click on Save.

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File :, click on Browse button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option :, click on the dropdown listbox and select the import filter RefMan RIS.
  4. Select Group.
  5. Click on Import.
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Wiley Online Library

In Wiley Online Library:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Mark references to be imported into EndNote Web.
  3. Click on Export Citation .
  4. Format: EndNote
  5. Export Type: Citation and Abstract
  6. Cick Submit.
  7. Save file onto your computer (file will have an .enw extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect.
  2. Click on Import References.
  3. Under File: , browse and select the saved file from your computer.
  4. Under Import Option :, select RefMan RIS
  5. Under To: select unfiled or a group
  6. Click on Import
  7. Click on the tab My References.
  8. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

In Worldwide Political Science Abstracts:

  1. Perform search as normal.
  2. Mark references to be imported into EndNote Web.
  3. Click on Export/Save.
  4. In the drop down box, click on EndNote, Citavi, or Reference Manager.
  5. Click on Continue (located at bottom of pop up box)
  6. Save file onto your computer (file will have an .ris extension).

In EndNote Web:

  1. Click on the tab Collect. Click on Import References.
  2. Under File : click on the Choose File button and select the saved file from your computer.
  3. Under Import Option : click on the dropdown listbox and select ProQuest.
  4. Under To : Select Group or Unfiled.
  5. Click on Import .
  6. Click on the tab My References.
  7. Your references will appear in the Unfiled or Selected folder.