Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Earth Sciences

Citing Sources

Consult with your professor to determine which style you should use for any paper or project. These print and online style guides give examples of citing sources in the text, bibliography or reference list of your paper. For help, ask for assistance at the Meredith College Learning Center.

ACS (American Chemical Society)

CSE (Council of Science Editors)

AMA (American Medical Association) or NLM (National LIbrary of Medicine)

APA (American Psychological Association)

MLA (Modern Language Association)

CMS (Chicago Manual of Style)

NARA (National archives of the United States

  • NARA - An eBook: Citing Records in the National Archives of the United States


Additional Citation and Style Resources

  • Guide to Grammar and Writing Capital Community College, Hartford, CT
  • Citing References Wiki Maintained by LexisNexis. Citation examples for document types found in LexisNexis® databases. Includes links to legal citation information.
  • Citing References Maintained by EBSCO. Citation examples for document types found in EBSCO databases. Covers APA, MLA, CMS, AMA and others.

Types of citation software

Citation management software helps you to collect all the references for all the sources you find in books and computer databases in one place.  This is particularly useful when using databases from multiple vendors (EBSCO and Proquest, for example).

Mendeley is a free research management tool that allows you to collect and organize the sources that you find in library databases and on the internet.  Mendeley offers the abiity to share references and collaborate with others in groups, and it integrates with Microsoft Word, allowing you to automatically insert citations into a Word document and generate bibliographies using a variety of citation styles.    

Mendeley works particularly well with the Scopus database, allowing seamless exporting of citations from Scopus into your Mendeley reference library.

CCL Guide to Mendeley

Zotero is a free tool for managing your references, and creating citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word.  It involves two components: the Zotero program itself, and a browser add-on for adding items to your Zotero library.

For more information, see our Zotero 101 guide.