Carlyle Campbell Library Home Meredith College Home Skip to main content

Nutrition: Home

Nutrition Sources

Library books

A general overview of any topic can be found in a Reference book.  A good place to find a Reference book is Credo Reference.

Meredith College uses the Dewey Decimal System to organize books.  Most nutrition books are  cataloged in the following areas:

612-616 Medical aspects of nutrition

641       Food and drink (cookbooks)

363.8    Supplying food to society

338.19  Economics of food supply

Journal Articles about a Particular Subject

Articles are found in databases.  One of the best sources for articles in nutrition journals is the database PubMed.  PubMed MESH subject headings are subject headings assigned by the National Library of Medicine.  In order to access the MeSH subject headings change the drop down menu to "MeSH."  Once you have chosen the appropriate MeSH heading you can incorporate them into a PubMed search.  NLM provides a tutorial for PubMed users.

Databases covering related disciplines may also contain articles of interest:

Agricola indexes agricultural sources.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition indexes nursing journals.

Natural Medicines indexes dietary supplements and homeopathic remedies.

ProQuest Family Health indexes scholarly journals and popular magazines on popular health topics.

ProQuest Health and Medical Collection -This database offers both scholarly journals and popular magazines on a variety of medical topics.

SPORTDiscus indexes journals in sports, exercise and health.

Web of Science indexes journals in the hard sciences.

Wiley Online Library is a publisher database including many scientific titles.

What do I do if I find a relevant journal article, but it is really old?

Science Citation Index helps you find similar more recent research that references the older article.

 

Web sites

The County Health Rankings & Roadmaps is a online tool to measure the state of a community's health. The data includes high school graduation rates, access to health foods, tobacco use, obesity and teen births, as well as, socioeconomic and environmental data. 

The Health and Wellness Center Information Center website contains summaries and links to reputable web sources on various health conditions and diseases.

How do I find a Specific Item?

How do I find an article in a particular journal?  Go to the library's web page and click on the Journal Titles tab.  Type the name of the journal, the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics for example, in the search box.  If there is an online version (represented by the computer screen icon) click on the icon and then choose a vendor name.  Once you are in the database search within that publication.

How do I find an assigned reading?  The professor says it is in the library.  Items on reserve may be located using the Course Reserve tab on the library's web page.

If the professor asks you to read an article not on reserve begin by clicking the Journal Titles tab on the library's home page. Type the name of the journal, the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition for example, in the search box. Once you have found the journal title consult the owned beginning and ending dates of that journal.  Pick a date range that contains the date of the article you are looking for.  

Am I limited to what is at Meredith?

You may borrow materials from other universities in Raleigh.

Click here to see the Cooperating Raleigh College agreement.

If a journal article is not at Meredith or a book is not at Meredith or North Carolina State University you may submit an Interlibrary Loan request.

Dissertations from other universities may be found in WorldCat Dissertations.  Two dissertations per graduate student may be ordered free of charge through ILL.

Writing it all down

Endnote Web is a product which allows you to collect all your documentation in one place.

AMA (American Medical Association) publishes its own style manual describing your paper's format

 

Other student theses are in the library.

Library Liaison

Jean Rick's picture
Jean Rick
Contact:
110 Carlyle Campbell Library
(919)760-8383

Ask Us

chat loading...