Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CQ Researcher Online
Full-text reports on current and controversial issues, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
An online collection of reference books including dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, biographies, statistics, quotations, and audio and image files from many different publishers.
A searchable collection of E-book reference titles that includes encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, dictionaries, directories, and specialized reference sources.
Article Search Tips
When searching the library's databases for articles, keep these tips in mind:
1) Use AND and OR to connect keywords: e.g., "gender gap" AND (income OR pay)
2) Search within specific publications like the Wall Street Journal or The Economist by adding them as keywords
3) Limit by date to get recent articles
4) Watch for editorial or opinion pieces. You can use these, but recognize that they only represent one perspective on the issue.
Think-tanks are organizations that conduct scholarly policy analysis and produce reports. Their objective is to better inform the public and government debate about important issues in the US and internationally.
To get started, do a keyword search in Harvard's Think-Tank Search tool, which searches reports from 1,200 think-tanks:
Think-Tank Search Engine
Keep in mind that many think-tanks take a particular ideological viewpoint, so their reports will be biased. To get the full picture, look for reports that reflect differing perspectives on your issue.
Don't just Google it! The US government and international NGOs conduct good-quality research on policy issues.
To find reports written by government agencies, add the following to your Google search:
To find reports written by non-governmental organizations (NGOs), search the country name and the issue, then add the following to your Google search:
Magazine and Scholarly Journal Articles
These databases can all be searched simultaneously. Open Academic Search Premier, click on the Choose Databases link, checkmark the other two, and press OK.
Academic Search Premier
A comprehensive multi-disciplinary full-text database with both scholarly and popular periodicals.
Business Source Premier
Offers full-text, indexing and abstracts of articles from thousands of business and trade journals, along with financial data, books, reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, research reports, company profiles, SWOT Analyses, and more.
Gender Studies Database
Provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly and popular publications on gender-related scholarship, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.
Women's Studies International
Women’s Studies International is an index covering the core disciplines relevant to Women’s Studies, including sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Database containing the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Provides information from many of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The online edition of the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Example News Articles
Look at these articles to decide whether they would make good sources for a presentation about maternity leave in the USA.
Zotero is a free tool for managing your references, and creating citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word. It involves two components: the Zotero program itself, and a browser add-on for adding items to your Zotero library.
For more information, see our Zotero 101 guide.
Remember to evaluate any web sources using the ABC test. If your source isn't relevant and/or doesn't meet all three criteria, you probably shouldn't use it!