LibGuides: Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies Subject Guide: Articles

Searching for articles

Subject Databases relevant to AAPI Studies

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text access to important scholarly journal literature in history, economics, political science, and other humanities and social sciences disciplines.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books, and other published sources.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on politics, policy and international relations, providing sources including journal articles, books, and research reports.
ProQuest Sociology This link opens in a new window
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture, social structure, and social psychology.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports on current and controversial issues related to health, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
A gateway allowing you to search across a collection of databases covering social science topics.

Selected Journals

Advances in Southeast Asian Studies
07/01/2011 to Present
Asian affairs, an American review (New York)
12/01/1989 to 15 months ago
Asian American Journal of Psychology
08/01/2009 to Present
Asian American Law Journal
2006 to Present
Asian American Policy Review
01/01/2018 to Present
Asian and Pacific migration journal : APMJ
03/01/1999 to Present
Asian ethnicity
03/01/2000 to 15 months ago
Asian Journal of Social Science Research
2018 to Present
Journal of Asian American Studies
06/01/2002 to 1 year ago
Pacific Affairs
04/01/1994 to 2 years ago
Pacific Review
03/01/1999 to 15 months ago

General/Interdisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of periodical content, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive multi-disciplinary full-text database with both scholarly and popular periodicals.

Helpful keywords

AAPI Geographic term examples: Asian, Pacific, China, Japan, Korea, Philippines/Filipino, Samoa, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Taiwan, Fiji, India, Thailand, Myanmar, Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bhutan, Papua New Guinea, Hawaii

American, United States

Specific research topic: Medicine, Culture, Film, Education, Experience, Immigration, Art, Discrimination, Economics, Business, Colonialism, Human Rights, Diaspora

-------------

EXAMPLE SEARCH: Hawaii* AND (America* OR United States) AND (music OR art)