LibGuides: Government Subject Guide: Federal Government

General

GovInfo
Find federal documents such as the budget, regulations, congressional hearings, the public papers of the President, and the US Code.
USA.gov
A search engine and directory for accessing online U.S. federal government resources.

Executive

American Presidency Project
A historical archive of executive orders, proclamations, state of the union addresses, and the Public Papers of the President.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
Browse presidential statements, messages, and remarks since 1992.
Public Papers of the President
Official versions of presidential speeches and writings, 1945-present.
White House
Transcripts of speeches, press releases, statements, and other documents expressing the president's perspective.

Judicial

Cornell Supreme Court Collection
An archive of decisions from 1990 through the present, which can be either searched by keyword or browsed by topic.
Supreme Court Database
A massive dataset of court decisions and associated information from 1791 to the present.
Supreme Court of the US
Search here for the text of opinions and orders issued by the Supreme Court.

Legislative

Bills and Legislation
Get full text of legislation (1993 - present), plus info on committee activities and floor votes
Budget of the United States Government
Browse the federal budget (1996–present)
Code of Federal Regulations
All current federal regulations, organized by subject
Committee Reports
Search or browse online (1995-present)
Congressional Hearings
Browse the full text of selected hearings (1957-present).
Congressional Record
Search or browse online (1989–present).
United States Code
The current law of the land; browse the current US Code.

Congressional Research Service Reports

Issue analysis reports geared toward legislators.

Historical Government Documents

HeinOnline Academic

This massive online resource contains numerous sub-collections of historic government documents, including House and Senate hearings, the Congressional Record, Supreme Court decisions, the US Serials Set, and the Statutes at Large.