LibGuides: Family and Consumer Sciences: Websites

Early Childhood Education and Development

Center on the Developing Child
A Harvard sponsored website that goes in-depth about all aspects of the early years of child development.
Child Trends
A nonprofit organization that provides a large amount of research and data on child development.
Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center
Use their Topics menu to access information about Early Head Start and early childhood learning.
National Association for the Education of Young Children
NAEYC provides resource materials and facts on child development and education.
What Works Clearinghouse: Early Childhood Education
This website offers a large variety of publications and reviews regarding early childhood education.
Zero to Three
This organization focuses on the well-being and development of young children

Choose to Save
List of valid websites regarding topics such as banking, consumer fraud, college, financial planning, marriage, moving etc.
Consumer Action
Provides hundreds of publications on topics such as banking, consumer rights, credit, housing and money management.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics on spending patterns on various consumer goods and services.
Consumer Issues (USA.gov)
A government sponsored website that gives you in-depth details on consumer tips, procedures, advice; also has a link to the Consumer Action Handbook.
FDIC Consumer Protections
A large variety of free publications about financial planning and safety.
Federal Trade Commission
Find reports, studies, and other resources about the FTC's activities to protect consumers.

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Provides advice, articles, and reviews on all things related to eating right and living a healthy lifestyle.
Centers for Disease Control: Nutrition
The CDC presents statistics plus resources and publications related to nutrition.
Choose My Plate
Find the latest dietary guidelines from the USDA, along with toolkits and other resources.
Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)
Under the 'Browse By Subject' section, you can find information regarding all aspects of a healthy lifestyle along with surveys, reports, and research.
Nutrition.gov
A one-stop website from the USDA for nutrition info. Browse the menu on the left.
Nutrition Source (Harvard)
Provides reliable information on how to live a healthy lifestyle.

Administration for Children and Families
Reports and data about the economic and social well-being of families and children.
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Provides "Facts for Families" documents which aid parents in helping their children go through challenges.
Medline Plus
A trusted government-sponsored website that provides facts and information about all aspects of child development.
National Institute of Child Health & Human Development
Has a 'A-Z Topics' section that covers all aspects of health, along with research, publications and scientific resources.