LibGuides: Women's and Gender Studies Subject Guide: Primary Sources & Websites

Primary Sources

Everyday Life and Women in America
A primary source collection offering insights into the daily lives of women from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
A collection of hundreds of women's letters and diaries from the Colonial period to 1950. It also includes biographies and an extensive list of sources.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, Scholars' Edition This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together primary documents, books, images and essays documenting women’s activism in public life.

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History & Culture
The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture acquires and preserves published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women throughout history.
Women & Gender Collections from the Library of Congress
This is a list of digitized collections from the Library of Congress that relate to women's history and gender studies.
Women's Resources from the National Archives
This is a list of women's history resources curated by the National Archives.
Women Working, 1800-1930
A collection of manuscripts, books, pamphlets, and photographs that shed light on women's role in the workforce during this period of American history.

Institute for Women's Policy Research
A non-profit "think tank" focused on women's issues in the United States. Look at "Trending Issues" or search under "Publications"
Women and the Law (HeinOnline)
A searchable collection of important historical resources related to women and their legal rights.

Gender Data Portal (World Bank)
Country-level statistics on a variety of gender-related topics.
Gender Stats (United Nations)
Country-level indicators on the economic status, health, and education of different genders.
General Social Survey Data Explorer
The General Social Survey (GSS) is a project of NORC at the University of Chicago, with principal funding from the National Science Foundation. Since 1972, the GSS has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society.