LibGuides: Newspapers: Historical Newspapers

Historical US and International Newspapers Online

African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
A collection of 280 newspapers published for or by African Americans, beginning with Freedom’s Journal, the first African American newspaper published in the United States.
Atlanta Daily World (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), a major African American community newspaper.
Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Searchable PDF edition of the Chicago Defender newspaper, covering 1909-2010. The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This database provides access to selected digitized historic newspaper pages from the years 1756-1963.

Confederate Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
An online collection of Confederate-era newspapers from Virginia, Georgia, Florida,Tennessee and Alabama.
Early American Newspapers: The Politics of Race in the South This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of newspapers printed in and around the southern United States during the Abolitionist, Civil War, and Reconstruction eras.
New York Times, Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The New York Times Historical Archive is a searchable full text data base of the daily New York Times from 1851 to five years ago.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of 19th Century newspapers from across the U.S., allowing readers to view both individual articles and entire pages.
Times (London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online full text archive of every page of 200 years of The Times (London). Dates of coverage are 1785-2014.

18th Century Newspapers on Microfilm

London, England
Annual Register	1758-1758
Daily Journal	1727-1728
Daily Universal Register	1785-1786
London Journal	1725-1729

United States
Birth of America	1763-1784

Birth of America is a collection of 52 colonial and revolutionary newspapers on microfilm. This collection is indexed in Birth of America: The Year in Review, 1763-1783. This index is located in the General collection: 016.9733 J589b

The microfilm is located in the Creation Station room on the main floor of the Library.

Meredith College Herald and Twig

Herald and Twig - The college newspaper is named the Herald (formerly the Twig). The years 1921-present are available online via the Digital NC website, for selected issues. Issues from the last 12 months may not be available.

The current Herald issues are available online or on paper in the College Archives.

Historical North Carolina Newspapers Online

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers in NC (Library of Congress)
Searchable and browseable access to over 100 digitized NC newspapers from all time periods.

Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Browse or search several million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 North Carolina newspapers.
News & Observer Collection
A searchable online version of the Raleigh News and Observer, including PDF editions back to 1910 and HTML full-text articles back to 1991, along with N&O videos, blogs and web-only articles.

North Carolina Newspapers (Digital NC)
Collection of over 200 North Carolina newspapers from all time periods and corners of the state.

20th Century NC Newspapers on Microfilm

Durham Morning Herald 1985-1990

The Independent (Durham, NC) 1997-2004

The microfilm versions of these publications, along with print indexes, are located in the Creation Station room on the main floor of the Library.

19th Century NC Newspapers on Microfilm

Guide to 19th century North Carolina newspapers on microfilm

The Library's holdings of 19th century North Carolina newspapers on microfilm are listed in this guide. The guide includes microfilm titles filmed by the North Carolina Division of Archives and History, and titles obtained from other sources.

The guide is alphabetized by city, which appears in bold type. In each individual city entry are that city’s newspaper titles.

The microfilm is located in the Creation Station room on the main floor of the Library.