Skip to Main Content

Chat closed, click to email us

History Subject Guide

Why Use Reference Sources?

These sources can help you get your research off the ground. They offer...

Basic info on topics and concepts
Ideas for possible research topics
Keyword ideas for searching the catalog and databases
Suggestions for further reading

Search for Reference Sources in OneSearch

Search for background information in reference sources using the library's OneSearch tool.

General U.S. History

The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia
Dictionary of American History
Encyclopedia of American History (R 973.03 En193)
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
Social History of the United States

Specific Periods in U.S. History

History of Specific Peoples

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896-Present
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History (R 305.4203 Ox22s)
Encyclopedia of LGBT History in America
Women in American History: A Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia

Search Gale Reference

Use Gale Reference to search a variety of encyclopedias and handbooks in this subject area.

General World History

Modern European History

Encyclopedia of European Social History
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance (R 940.2103 En197)
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era (R 941.081 En192)
Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
Europe, 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction

Non-Western History

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia (R 950.03 En192)
Southeast Asia: A Historical Encyclopedia, from Angkor Wat to East Timor (R 959.003 So88g)
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Encyclopedia of African History
New Encyclopedia of Africa