LibGuides: Art Subject Guide: Citation Help

MLA Style

MLA Style involves parenthetical citations within the paper, plus a list of works cited at the end of the paper.

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
An online version of the MLA Handbook, containing the most recent edition of the Handbook, as well as other resources on research and MLA style.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Reference Collection, R 808.027 M699 2021
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
Examples of in-text citations and works cited entries.
Using MLA Format
A guide to MLA format from the MLA, including tips. sample papers and a citation generator.
Ask the MLA
A searchable database of the MLA's answers to questions about MLA style-- a good place to look for guidance about citing less common source types.

Chicago Style

Chicago Style refers to two different citation styles. Please ask your instructor which version to use. Note that "Turabian Style" is very similar to Chicago Style, with a few minor differences.

The Humanities, or Notes/Bibliography version (often used in Art, History, and Religion) involves footnotes and a bibliography.

The Author-Date version (often preferred in the social sciences) involves in-text citations and a reference list.

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Also in Reference Collection, R808 C432 2017

Turabian Manual for Writers
Reference Collection, R 808 T84t1 2018
Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide
Guidance on both Humanities and Author-Date for the most commonly used types of sources.
Chicago Humanities Style (Williams Coll.)
Examples of citing common types of sources in the Humanities style (Notes and Bibliography).
Chicago Author-Date Style (Williams Coll.)
Examples of citing common types of sources in the Author-Date Style.

APA Style

APA Style involves parenthetical citations within the paper, plus a reference list at the end of the paper.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Reference Collection, R 808.02 Am3 2020
APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
Examples of in-text citations and reference list entries.
APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
Useful guidance and info straight from the APA.
Basics of APA Style
Free online tutorial from the APA.

Zotero

Zotero is a free tool for managing your references, and creating citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word or Google Docs. It involves two components: the Zotero program itself, and a browser "connector" for adding items to your Zotero library.

For more information, see our Zotero 101 guide.