Theatre

Explore music, theater, and dance at the Library of Congress.

IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

Daily links to new articles published in the New York Times Theatre section.

This site has been maintained since 1996 to provide easy access to useful research sites throughout the world.

This site is by the creators of the Tony Awards. It is dedicated to celebrating excellence and supporting education in the theatre.

An advocate for the field of theatre and performance in higher education, ATHE serves as an intellectual and artistic center for producing new knowledge about theatre and performance-related disciplines, cultivating vital alliances with other scholarly and creative disciplines, linking with professional and community-based theatres, and promoting access and equity.

The American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) is a U.S.-based professional organization that fosters scholarship on worldwide theatre and performance, both historical and contemporary. Members of the American Society for Theatre Research say the Society is a space to share scholarship and a home for networking within the profession.

The American Theatre Critics Association, Inc. is the only national association of professional theatre critics. Members work for newspapers, magazines, radio, television, and on-line services across the United States. Membership is open to all who review theatre professionally, regularly and with substance for print, electronic or digital media.

Actors' Equity Association (“Equity"), founded in 1913, is the U.S. labor union that represents more than 50,000 Actors and Stage Managers. Equity seeks to foster the art of live theatre as an essential component of society and advances the careers of its members by negotiating wages, working conditions and providing a wide range of benefits, including health and pension plans. Actors' Equity is a member of the AFL-CIO and is affiliated with FIA, an international organization of performing arts unions.

The American Alliance for Theatre and Education (AATE) is the networking organization for theatre artists and educators. AATE aims to provide opportunities for idea exchange, leadership, creativity, artistry, mentorship, recognition, advocacy and more to those with a vested interest in the field of theatre and education.

The American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards® are presented by Tony Award Productions, a joint venture of The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. On this site you will find nominees and winners as well as news, photos and related videos.

New York's premiere online news weekly provides theatre reviews, opinions on culture, art, dance and film. Founded in 1955 by Norman Mailer, Dan Wolf and Ed Francher as the first alternative news weekly, the Village Voice is an important resource for those especially involved in the arts.

This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

The Brooklyn Academy of Music digitized 70,000 objects Spanning 150 Years of performance. This digital archive features playbills, photographs, videos, audio, and ephemera from a century and a half of theatrical history.

The Library of Congress digitized collections covers a rich cross-section of our country's history.

Efforts led by a range of organizations, including the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive, have successfully built resources that provide books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials to anyone with Internet access.