Biology

The BHL brings together open access literature and archival resources on natural history. The website provides access to over 60 million pages of free content.

From the Critical Ecosystem Partnership Fund of Conservation International, this site includes information and GIS data on various biodiversity hotspots invested in by CEPF, including the Caribbean Islands, mountains of southwest China, forests of east Australia, and more.

The Encyclopedia of Life brings together information from books, databases, websites, and more about life on Earth. The EOL provides pages for different life-forms including overview information, media, articles, etc.

GBIF is a network of open access data about biodiversity funded by the world's governments. Publishers of data conform to standards set by GBIF.

ITIS provides authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes.

The website for the National Center for Biotechnology Information, run by the National Library of Medicine, brings together various resources on biomedical and genomic information. The NCBI site includes access to raw data, code libraries, analysis tools, and research reports.

This site provides educational resources for genomics, information on the Human Genome Project, information on genomics policy issues, and data analysis tools.

From the USDA, the PLANTS database provides standardized information about plants in the United States, including names, distributional data, characteristics, references, and more.

From a collaboration of biologists, the Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) has more than 10,000 web pages on biodiversity, groups of organisms, and evolutionary history.