Government Subject Guide

Demographics, housing, poverty, and economic indicators. Use the Browse by Topic or Explore Data menus to get started.

The BJS publishes statistics on all aspects of crime, drugs, victims, and the justice system in the United States.

The FBI produces several annual publications containing statistics on the volume and rate of all types of crimes.

GDP, trade, and income data for the United States, with breakdowns by region and industry.

Employment, wages, productivity, and inflation (CPI/PPI) data for the United States.

Download spreadsheets containing historic time-series data for the major monthly and quarterly economic indicators (such as housing starts, retail sales, GDP, and construction spending).

This online database maintained by the St. Louis branch of the Fed offers thousands of time series of U.S. economic data. The data can be viewed in charts or downloaded for analysis.

Access US import and export data by product.

An annual U.S. government report with statistics covering all aspects of education from preschool through college, including data on student performance and school environments.

An annual U.S. statistical publication with data on teachers, enrollments, graduates, educational attainment, and finances, among other topics.

This agency provides State Profiles and the Nation's Report Card, among other sources of education data.

Follow the topical links for data from the annual Current Population Survey on educational attainment, school cost, and school enrollment.

This branch of the US Department of Energy produces statistics on energy usage, supply, prices, and alternative energy sources.

Browse by topic for publications and statistics on different environment-related issues.

This agency produces data on health care cost, quality, and utilization, plus an important report on health care disparities by race, income, and geographic region.

One-stop access to the Center for Disease Control's statistical resources. Use the Topics tab to find data on such issues as cancer, AIDS, occupational safety, and infant mortality.

This branch of the CDC gathers and publishes a wide range of health statistics.

This resource presents data on campaign contributions, personal finances, and outside spending for individual candidates for U.S. office.

This website provides detailed breakdowns of voting and registration by sex, age, race, state, and other dimensions.

Reports and data about the economic and social well-being of families and children.

This US government website contains the annual publication America's Children, with statistics that portray the well-being of children from a variety of perspectives.

An excellent website for obtaining state-level statistical comparisons of the well-being of children in the United States. Topics include education, poverty, and health.

This interactive tool from the Human Development Project enables you to create maps of various health, education, and income indicators at the state or Congressional District level.

Freely-available statistics on the countries of the EU, organized in directories by subject.

Access a variety of statistics for OECD countries. Search by keyword or browse by topic or country.

Do a quick search for statistical data as collected by the wide range of UN umbrella organizations.

Statistics on health, education, poverty, and other areas, which can be accessed by country, topic, or indicator.

Use the Topics menu to find reports and data on particular subjects related to international crime.

This database helps you extract time series data on unemployment, prices, and other labor-related variables.

Use this website from the World Trade Organization to obtain import and export data for many commodities and products.

Statistics on health, education, poverty, and other areas, which can be accessed by country, topic, or indicator.

This twice-annual publication provides data tables of past economic performance and forecast projections.

Access the OECD's Online Educational Database, along with publications such as Education at a Glance, with data on educational attainment, education spending, and teachers by country.

Find statistical profiles of education, literacy, and communication in specific regions and countries, view premade cross-country comparison tables, or generate your own tables.

Statistics on energy production and consumption for individual countries.

Use the Data tab to find data by country or energy source.

Find statistics in their annual UNEP Year Book. Also see the Environmental Indicator data from the UN's Statistical Division.

Use this website to select the countries, years, and health variables of interest in order to produce downloadable data tables.

The WHO produces health statistics on countries in a variety of formats, including the annual World Health Statistics and their powerful Global Health Observatory database.

Find election results from all the countries of the world from 1998 through the present.

This online database provides easy access to country-level data on gender aspects of issues like poverty, education, nutrition, and labor force participation.

Find country-level data on a variety of social and economic indicators related to children.