LibGuides: About the Library: About

Collections

Archives & College History
The College Archives is the home of historical materials about the College and its various constituencies. We recognize that some of the content in our digital collections may contain offensive materials and images. We have chosen to include them in the collection because we are committed to representing the institution’s history as accurately as possible. The behavior depicted in the images in direct violation of the current college policies and honor code and does not in any way reflect the current values of Meredith College.

Special collections at CCL:

Children's literature
Fiction and non-fiction for all ages, browsable through the library catalog.
Honors and Graduate Papers
* All Honors Theses are available in Carlyle Campbell Library and can be searched in the Library catalog by author or title.
* A complete, sortable list can be found by searching the Library catalog for Meredith College Honors Program.
* Theses completed 1987 to 2002 Spring are on microfilm.
* Theses completed 2002 Fall to present are on paper.
* Theses completed 2010 Fall to present are also available online.
K-12 Curriculum Materials
An extensive collection of K-12 textbooks and supporting materials, as well as a large collection of B-K books.
Music
Music education curriculum materials, CDs, piano pedagogy, The John Craig Stevens Guitar Collection of guitar scores, hymnal collection, the Naxos Music Library of streaming audio.
Periodicals
The library has current and past volumes of bound periodicals, and online access to over 50,000 titles.
Video
Over 500 popular movies and over 3000 DVDs for teaching and learning.
YA and Graphic Novels
The library has an growing collection of Trending Reads. This collection contains over 1000 YA and Graphic Novels.

Directions

MAP: Carlyle Campbell Library is number 8 on the College campus map.

DRIVING DIRECTIONS:

Getting to the campus: Driving directions to Meredith College.
When on the campus: From the campus entrance on Hillsborough St, drive straight until you reach a roundabout; turn right onto the roundabout and circle around until you reach South Campus Drive (your second right) and turn off. Continue on this road (over several speed bumps) until you reach North Campus Drive (you will see a sign for Carlyle Campbell Library and Weatherspoon building up on the right). Turn right onto North Campus Drive and you will see the library ahead on the right.

PARKING: There is free visitor parking right beside the library. Walk around to the front of the building to reach the main entrance.

Employment

Positions:
To see a list of all positions currently open at the College, including the library, please go here:

View All Jobs

Friends of the Library

Complete information about Friends programs and membership is on the Friends page.

Hours and Calendar

REGULAR LIBRARY HOURS

Carlyle Campbell Library
Monday-Thursday 7:30am-1am
Friday 7:30am-7pm
Saturday 11am-5pm
Sunday 1pm-1am

Reference Services
Monday-Thursday 9am-5pm, 6pm-9pm
Friday 9am-5pm
Sunday 1pm-9pm

Media Services
Monday-Thursday 8am-6pm
Friday 8am-5pm
Saturday closed
Sunday closed

Complete Calendar With Exceptions

Mission Statement

The Mission of Carlyle Campbell Library

Carlyle Campbell Library advances knowledge, empowers learners, and strengthens the Meredith community, with three vital resources—our staff, our collections, and our physical and virtual spaces.

We advance knowledge by providing access to materials, tools, and information that open up global perspectives.
We empower learners in their pursuit of excellence and academic success.
We strengthen the Meredith community

Through these efforts we support the larger mission of the College

Expanded Mission Statement

View the expanded Mission Statement here.

Statistics About the Library

Total titles - all formats: 460,490
Total volumes (1) - all formats: 490,814
Total volumes - physical all formats: 166,823
Total volumes - ebooks: 287,183
Total volumes (3) - streaming video: 32,369
Total volumes (2) - streaming audio: 139,310
Staff (FTE): 16 total, 8 faculty, 8 staff
Building: Opened 1970. 60,000 sq. ft. + 12,000 sq ft. remote storage
Web site usage - annual page views: 214,822
Library System: OCLC WorldShare Management Services
Discovery layer: Summon
Discovery layer: WMS Discovery

Website Usage Reports

Use statistics for the library web pages are available depending on need by contacting Carrie Nichols at nicholsc@meredith.edu.

null

About the Library: About

ON THIS PAGE: