Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Magazines: Older Magazines

Magazine Databases

Cover of Womanhood Magazine

International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933

This collection provides full-text access to a number of significant women’s periodicals, with a focus on the late 1800s and early 1900s.

Life Magazine cover

LIFE Magazine Archive

A cover-to cover archive of Life magazine, from its first issue in November 1936 through December 2000.

National Geographic magazine cover

National Geographic Magazine Digital Archive, 1888-2015

A searchable full-text and image archive of National Geographic Magazine, allowing readers to explore the articles, photos and maps from over a century of the magazine's issues

Cover of Newsweek Magazine

News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive, Featuring Newsweek

An archival collection of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive from 1933-2012) spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy

Cover of Vogue Magazine

The Vogue Archive

An archive of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image format, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues

Cosmopolitan magazine cover

Women's Magazine Archive

A full-text historical archive of magazines aimed at a female readership, including Cosmopolitan, Seventeen, Essence and Woman's Day.

Older Magazines in Library Databases

These magazines are not available to browse cover-to-cover, but the majority of articles from these old issues are available to read in full text. 

Saturday Evening Post magazine cover

Saturday Evening Post

News and feature stories: 1931 - present

Time magazine cover

 

TIME Magazine

News magazine: 1923 - present

Cover of Atlantic Monthly magazine

 

Atlantic Monthly

Literary and opinion magazine: 1857 - 1932

Commentary Magazine cover picture

 

Commentary

Influential Jewish opinion magazine: 1945 - 1985

The Nation magazine cover

The Nation 

Liberal opinion magazine: 1900 - present

Nations Business magazine cover

 

Nation's Business

U.S. Chamber of Commerce magazine: 1912 - 1985

The New Republic magazine cover

New Republic

Liberal opinion magazine: 1914 - present

 

Index of Old Magazines

Google Archives

These magazines are available cover-to-cover for several years or decades, in Google's magazine archives.  These are useful for stories, but also for their advertisements and photos.

Ebony Magazine

Ebony

1959 - 2008

Mother Jones Magazine cover

Mother Jones

1976 - 1999

New Scientist magazine cover

New Scientist

1956 - 1989

New York magazine cover

New York

1968 - 1997

Popular Science magazine cover

Popular Science

1910 - 2009