You can manually add references to Zotero by choosing "New Item" in the File menu, selecting the desired type of source (book, magazine article, etc.), and filling in the information necessary to create a complete citation in your preferred style. This method will be needed for unusual sources like primary sources, interviews, and documents that are unavailable on the Web.
But for sources in library catalogs/databases or on the Web, the best method is to use the Zotero Connector that you installed in your preferred Internet browser.
When in a library catalog or database record for a particular item (for example, a journal article in Academic Search Premier), or on a free website, look for the Zotero icon in your browser's top toolbar. It may look like a book or document. Click it, and the item's citation information (along with full-text if available) will be added to your Zotero library.
If an item's full text is not in the database but you obtain it later (by scanning the item or getting the PDF from Interlibrary Loan or another website), you can add it to the item's citation in Zotero. Click the paperclip (Add Attachment) button in the toolbar, choose Attach Stored Copy of File, browse to the item's PDF, and click Open to attach it to the Zotero citation.
Zotero works well for most research databases, including the following highly-used resources:
It does NOT work well for the library's two databases of encyclopedia articles, Credo Reference and Gale Reference, so you may need to add those encyclopedia articles manually.
Carlyle Campbell Library
Meredith College
3800 Hillsborough St.
Raleigh, NC 27607
919-760-8532
