Archives Collections

This is your guide to the organization of the archives and the various media available. Select one of the headings below for more complete descriptions of each collection.

Collections Outline

General arrangement of all archives materials. 

Audio Collections

Audio materials are mostly audiocassettes of musical performances by faculty, students, and guests from the period 1978-1998. There are also speeches from convocations from the time before video. These are currently being transferred to CD and/or digital formats. Newer musical performances and lectures are in video format (DVD). The Oral History of Meredith College Alumnae is on audio CD while the Oral History Collections are available digitally. Most audio is searchable in the library catalog.  See the Archives staff for complete holdings and access.

Video & Audio Collections

Video: Video goes back as far as 1935 when students made "home movies" of campus life. Original formats include 8mm film, betamax and VHS videocassettes, and DVD. Most video has been transferred to DVD, except for rarely used and less important VHS from the 1970s and 1980s. Most video is searchable in the library catalog. See the Archives staff for complete holdings and access.

Audio: A small audio collection of interviews, speeches, and music performances is available. Video mostly supplanted audio in the 1980s. Audio is searchable in the library catalog.  See the Archives staff for complete holdings and access.

Publications

Over 35,000 pages of documents from Meredith have been digitized and are available for your use online. These include the yearbook, catalog, newspaper, books on Meredith history and more.

Photographs

This collection contains over 10,000 prints and a large number of digitized images. See the Archives staff for complete holdings and access.

Scrapbooks

The Meredith College Scrapbook Collection contains over one hundred and seventy scrapbooks and photo albums created by individuals, classes, clubs, organizations, and other groups associated with Meredith either currently or in the past.  The scrapbooks contain content ranging between the years 1906 and 2014. Select the Scrapbooks tab at the top of this page to see our holdings.

Subject Files

The Meredith College Subject Files contain clippings, ephemera, flyers, brochures, and other secondary sources organized by subject.  All subjects relate to people, places, and events connected to Meredith College and its history.